National Technical Honor Society Members Inducted

The 34 students inducted into the Lorain County JVS Chapter of the National Technical Honor Society this week are exceptional leaders who represent the very best in the school district and their communities. The ceremony included 11 returning, second-year members, and 23 new inductees.

JVS High School Principal, Jill Petitti said that the students being inducted should be extremely proud of their accomplishments. “I am so very proud of all of you,” Petitti said directly to the students. “Your families and friends are proud of you too. We all want you to know that this is something that is important and should be celebrated.”

Carpentry senior Savannah Engelman, shared how it felt to be selected as the President for the JVS National Honor Society Chapter. “It was a real honor to be president and have everyone vote me in for that position. I was really excited for the opportunity.”

Being president means that Engelman was also the Master of Ceremonies for the event.

The JVS has meant a tremendous amount to Engelman and she happily shared what an impact the school has had on her and will have on her future. “My experience at the JVS has been amazing. I am so grateful for all the opportunities it has opened up for me; from being able to join the Carpenters Union and a four-year apprentice, to my involvement with competing at SkillsUSA competitions and now National Technical Honor Society, I’m just so very grateful for the total experience.”

The JVS NTHS students are listed by their home school district below:                

Avon Lake
Tucker Miller from Commercial Truck Technology

Mackenzie Glass from Early Childhood Education, Victoria Nelson from Allied Health Sciences

Sydney Collier from Landscape and Greenhouse Management

Joshua Morlock from Industrial Equipment Mechanics

Lijanna Marcano from Allied Health Sciences, Kristen Reid from Allied Health Sciences, Levi Shawley from Masonry Trades

Genalda Finley from Allied Health Sciences, Jacob Holland from Heating and Air Conditioning, Amber Michalski from Industrial Electricity, Derric Rogala from Collision Repair

Curtis Bacsi from Industrial Electricity, Emma James from Allied Health Sciences, Grace James from Allied Health Sciences, Alexis Kaspar from Allied Health Sciences, Samantha Nelson from Bakery and Pastry Arts, Cheyanne Shepherd from Allied Health Sciences

Madison Coughlin from Welding and Fabrication, Savannah Engelman from Carpentry, Thomas Keller from Landscape and Greenhouse Management, William Keller from Landscape and Greenhouse Management, Olivia Molnar from Allied Health Sciences, Olivia Walker from Allied Health Sciences

North Ridgeville
Jacob Mansell from Allied Health Sciences, Julie Taylor from Collision Repair

Taylor Bealer from Allied Health Sciences, Katelin DeZee from Web and Graphic Design, Grace Dudziak from Allied Health Sciences, Eva Hartwig from Bakery and Pastry Arts, Morgan Hunter from Marketing and Entrepreneurship, Savannah Roby from Landscape and Greenhouse Management, Hailey Staffeld from Allied Health Sciences, Kaylee Thorn from Early Childhood Education

The NTHS honors students for outstanding achievement and success in career-technical education. Students are selected for membership based on the qualities of citizenship, leadership, workmanship and scholarship.

The NTHS encourages high scholastic achievement, cultivates a desire for personal excellence, and helps motivated students find success in today's highly competitive job market.