Voice Recognition

Article: Columbia Community Foundation Implements Scholarship for JVS students

Columbia Community Foundation Implements Scholarship for JVS students

Left to right: Laura Bosworth, Columbia Community Foundation director; Shawn Ondrejko, Columbia Community Foundation director; Megan Champagne, JVS assistant principal; Mandie Andrews, Columbia Community Foundation director

The Columbia Community Foundation has created the Career Pathway Scholarship to cover school fees for Lorain County JVS/Columbia students. 
“We are grateful for the generosity of this scholarship,” said Dr. Glenn Faircloth, JVS superintendent. “We know this scholarship will assist our students and their families greatly.”
“The scholarship program is an opportunity for every Columbia Station student attending the JVS,” said Columbia Board of Education and Community Foundation Director, Wayne Brassell. “The Foundation wants to provide the scholarship for all students who apply and meet the application requirements.” 
In 2016, The Board of Directors of the Columbia Community Foundation launched the Technology Fee Program for Columbia freshman and sophomore students attending JVS to assist in the need to cover their technology fees. To date, the Foundation has paid technology fees for 85 students totaling over eighteen thousand dollars.  
In the fall of 2020, the Foundation wanted to expand the program and the Career Pathway Scholarship was announced. This will cover all career tech program costs for junior and senior students.
“This is an opportunity for our students to attend the JVS at no cost,” shared Brassell. “This is only made possible by the continued good works of the foundation and their loyal and generous individual and corporate sponsors.”
“The Community Foundation believes in Dr. Faircloth's vision of offering career-technical education to every student in Lorain County free of charge and we are doing our part to fulfill that for students in Columbia Station,” stated Brassell.  
Megan Champagne, JVS assistant principal and Columbia school board member, received the scholarship check at the monthly Columbia Board of Education meeting on Wednesday, December 16. “I know, first hand, that the career-technical education we offer at Lorain County JVS greatly benefits our students, families, and the local economy,” said Champagne. “I am so proud and excited that the Columbia Community Foundation has made this commitment to Columbia students."
The 2020 Inaugural Career Pathway Scholarship JVS recipients are, Joshua Hickman, collision repair junior; Brianna (Breezy) Hicks, allied health sciences junior; Kaylie James, bakery and pastry arts junior; Cayden Keys, masonry trades senior; Samuel Kleinhenz, precision machine technology senior; Jessica Saylor, public safety junior; and Bryan Spaniel, web and graphic design junior.

Print This Article
The Lorain County Joint Vocational School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability or age in its programs and activities, and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. © 2021. The Lorain County Joint Vocational School District. All Rights Reserved.